Wade officially first choice as Australia announce 12 man Test squad for South Africa

0 Flares Filament.io 0 Flares ×

National Selector John Inverarity commented today on Australia’s selection for the first test in Brisbane which begins on November 9th.

“The 12 man squad for the first Vodafone Test against South Africa is as many have predicted.

“Most discussion centred on the wicket-keeping role with both Matthew Wade and Brad Haddin presenting a strong and compelling case for inclusion.

“Matthew came into the Australian ODI team in February and has since acquitted himself especially well.

“Matthew and Brad both went to the West Indies; Matthew as our preferred ODI and T20 player and Brad as our incumbent and preferred Test match ‘keeper. As is widely known Brad returned to Australia early in the tour due to family circumstances and as a consequence Matthew was our Test ‘keeper for the three Test matches.

“He kept and batted very well and made a match-defining brilliant century in the second innings of the Third and final Test against West Indies.

“Since then he has played and gained valuable experience in England, the UAE and Sri Lanka. As a young player, getting better by the month, he is thoroughly deserving of his retention.

“While Matthew has been retained as the Test ‘keeper, Brad remains a player of significant interest.

“The last Test match that Australia played, the Third Test in the West Indies last April, included Ryan Harris. Ryan is continuing his rehabilitation from injury and is unavailable.

“Peter Siddle and James Pattinson have recovered especially well from the injuries that rendered them unavailable for that last Test in West Indies. In fact, they have been enjoying an ideal preparation for the first Vodafone Test in Brisbane having played in three Bupa Sheffield Shield games with another one to come later this week.

“The squad will assemble in Brisbane on Monday and will have three days of intensive preparation together to be ready for the beginning of this long awaited series starting on 9 November,” Inverarity said.

The Australian squad for the first Vodafone Test is:



Michael Clarke (c) NSW


Shane Watson (vc) NSW


Ed Cowan TAS


Ben Hilfenhaus TAS


Mike Hussey WA


Nathan Lyon SA


James Pattinson VIC


Ricky Ponting TAS


Peter Siddle VIC


Mitchell Starc NSW


Matthew Wade VIC


David Warner NSW


Liked this post? You should subscribe to our email updates - why subscribe.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *